Nerd Notes

/dev/brain: no space left on device

Sun One Webserver 6.1SP3 on Ubuntu Edgy

with 3 comments

Okay, so, from time to time, I do pretty lame things too. I was trying to install Sun One Webserver 6.1SP3 on my Ubuntu Edgy laptop at work and, when launching the installer I got:

$ sh setup
/home/mcaserta/tmp/.setup: error while loading shared libraries: libstdc++-libc6.2-2.so.3: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

“This is an easy one”, I thought. I recalled the days when installing a recent Sun JDK on a Debian system required you to install a compatibility package such as libcompat-something or libstdc-something. So I fired up synaptic and made a search for both. I couldn’t find anything.

I said to myself: “If I make a couple symlinks, I can fool the system into thinking it’s got the library it requires and make it use the default one”. So, I did an:

$ sudo ln -s /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.6.0.8 /usr/lib/libstdc++-libc6.2-2.so.3

After this, the setup software started spitting out to me all sort of missing library files errors, which I tried fixing using the same principle as above.

After an hour of symlinking in pain, I went looking for the libcompat Ubuntu package and I found out it’s in Edgy in the universe repository. So, I went into synaptic, hit the repositories setup in the settings menu and enabled all available repositories. I had them all enabled before the Edgy upgrade but, apparently, the upgrade has disabled some of them.

I shut down synaptic and fired an:

$ sudo apt-get install libstdc++2.10-glibc2.2

and everything went fine since then, except that trying to launch the admin server results in a core dump and I’m looking into that right now.

Written by Mirko Caserta

October 30, 2006 at 11:54 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi, i’m looking for easy way to install Sun ONE Web Server 6.0 SP1 (or other versions) on Ubuntu 6.10. Do you now how many dependencies and libraries are needed before install?

    Best regards

    Sasser

    February 25, 2007 at 11:14 am

  2. Termcap-compat can be downloaded from this website: http://geekzine.org/2007/11/29/termcap-compat-on-ubuntu/

    You need also libstdc++2.10-glibc2.2. I dont know how to get it for Ubuntu 6.10, but I’m using now Ubuntu 9. This worked for me:

    “In order to install libstdc++2.10-glibc2.2 on Ubuntu hardy 8.04 Linux, you need to download libstdc++2.10-glibc2.2_2.95.4-24_i386.deb and install it using dpkg:

    wget mirrors.kernel.org/ubuntu/pool/universe/g/gcc-2.95/libstdc++2.10-glibc2.2_2.95.4-24_i386.deb
    sudo dpkg –install libstdc++2.10-glibc2.2_2.95.4-24_i386.deb

    Esanator

    June 3, 2009 at 2:47 pm

  3. how about adminserver start , I am also having trouble starting it.. did any one succeeded

    ozan yokuva

    March 13, 2010 at 9:28 am


Leave a Reply

